football Edit

McFadden, Butu make coaches first-team All-SEC

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Three members of the Arkansas football team garnered spots on the All-Southeastern Conference teams selected on Tuesday by the league coaches.
Tailback Darren McFadden and linebacker Sam Olajubutu both earned first-team recognition, while return specialist Felix Jones was chosen to the second team.
McFadden was one of three running backs chosen to the first team. He and Alabama's Kenneth Darby tied for first-team honors along with Auburn's Kenny Irons. The first-team selection was the second in as many days for McFadden who was tabbed by the Associated Press on Monday.
McFadden finished his freshman campaign with 1,113 yards on 176 carries, becoming the Arkansas first freshman in school history to rush for 1,000 yards in a season. He became only the seventh freshman in the history of the Southeastern Conference to accomplish that feat. Along with his UA freshman rushing record, McFadden also set a new school record for touchdowns by a freshman with 11.
The North Little Rock, Ark., native ranks fourth in the SEC and 32nd in the nation in rushing yards per game (101.2). His 101.2 yards-per-game ranks second in the nation among freshmen running backs. He racked up five 100-yard rushing games on the season, which also ranks second among freshmen running backs.
Olajubutu was named to the first team along with Alabama's DeMeco Ryans (unanimous), Ole Miss' Patrick Willis and Vanderbilt's Moses Osemwegie. Olajubutu led the Hogs in tackles with 111 and ranked third in the SEC. He also led the team in tackles for loss with 14.5 for 40 yards. His 1.32 tackles per loss per game ranked fourth in the SEC.
The LaGrange, Ga., native also accounted for 4.5 sacks, eight quarterback hurries, three pass breakups and a forced fumble. Olajubutu's 18 tackles against Auburn were the most in a single game by any player in the SEC this season.
Jones captured second-team honors in his rookie campaign as a return specialist. He was a threat from multiple positions on both offense and special teams. Jones leads the country in kickoff returns at 31.9 yards per return, over six yards more than any other player in the SEC. His 543 kickoff return yards are the second most in a single season in UA school history.
Jones ranks just outside of the top 10 in the SEC with 56.9 yards rushing per game and accounted for four touchdowns. He also caught eight passes out of the backfield for 100 yards.
The All-SEC teams are selected by the league coaches, who are not allowed to vote for themselves or their own players.
(*-Ties / #-Unanimous Selection / ^-Repeat First-Team Selection) (Coaches could not vote for themselves or their own players)
Pos. Name School Ht. Wt. Class Hometown
^TE Leonard Pope Georgia 6-7 250 Jr. Americus, Ga.
^#OL Marcus McNeill Auburn 6-9 338 Sr. Decatur, Ga.
^#OL Max Jean-Gilles Georgia 6-4 340 Sr. Miami, Fla.
#OL Andrew Whitworth LSU 6-7 322 Sr. West Monroe, La.
*OL Tre' Stallings Ole Miss 6-4 317 Sr. Magnolia, Miss.
*OL Arron Sears Tennessee 6-4 338 Jr. Russellville, Ala.
^C Mike Degory Florida 6-6 304 Sr. Palm Bay, Fla.
WR Sidney Rice South Carolina 6-4 191 Fr. Gaffney, S.C.
WR Earl Bennett Vanderbilt 6-2 200 Fr. Birmingham, Ala.
QB Jay Cutler Vanderbilt 6-4 228 Sr. Santa Claus, Ind.
RB Kenny Irons Auburn 5-11 202 Jr. Dacula, Ga.
*RB Kenneth Darby Alabama 5-11 205 Jr. Huntsville, Ala.
*RB Darren McFadden Arkansas 6-2 210 Fr. North Little Rock, Ark.
Pos. Name School Ht. Wt. Class Hometown
TE Dustin Dunning Vanderbilt 6-5 248 Sr. Hoover, Ala.
OL Tim Duckworth Auburn 6-4 315 Jr. Taylorsville, Miss.
OL Randy Hand Florida 6-6 310 Sr. Fort Myers, Fla.
*OL Will Arnold LSU 6-4 322 So. Gloster, Miss.
*OL Daniel Inman Georgia 6-7 328 Jr. Hope Mills, N.C.
*OL Brian Stamper Vanderbilt 6-5 292 Jr. Windermere, Fla.
C Rudy Niswanger LSU 6-6 296 Sr. Monroe, La.
WR Chad Jackson Florida 6-1 205 Jr. Hoover, Ala.
WR Tyrone Prothro Alabama 5-8 178 Jr. Heflin, Ala.
*QB D.J. Shockley Georgia 6-1 206 Sr. College Park, Ga.
RB Jerious Norwood Mississippi State 6-0 204 Sr. Brandon, Miss.
RB Rafael Little Kentucky 5-11 195 So. Anderson, S.C.
Pos. Name School Ht. Wt. Class Hometown
DL Willie Evans Mississippi State 6-2 270 Sr. Waynesboro, Miss.
DL Quentin Moses Georgia 6-5 248 Jr. Athens, Ga.
DL Claude Wroten LSU 6-3 290 Sr. Bastrop, La.
#LB DeMeco Ryans Alabama 6-2 232 Sr. Bessemer, Ala.
LB Patrick Willis Ole Miss 6-2 230 Jr. Bruceton, Tenn.
^LB Moses Osemwegie Vanderbilt 6-0 228 Sr. Nashville, Tenn.
LB Sam Olajubutu Arkansas 5-9 227 Jr. LaGrange, Ga.
#DB Greg Blue Georgia 6-2 214 Sr. College Park, Ga.
DB Roman Harper Alabama 6-1 200 Sr. Prattville, Ala.
DB LaRon Landry LSU 6-2 204 Jr. Ama, La.
DB Ko Simpson South Carolina 6-1 201 So. Rock Hill, S.C.
Pos. Name School Ht. Wt. Class Hometown
DL Mark Anderson Alabama 6-5 253 Sr. Tulsa, Okla.
*DL Jerome Mincey Florida 6-4 265 Sr. Statesboro, Ga.
*DL Parys Haralson Tennessee 6-2 248 Sr. Flora, Miss.
*DL Kyle Williams LSU 6-2 295 Sr. Ruston, La.
LB Omar Gaither Tennessee 6-2 230 Sr. Charlotte, N.C.
LB Travis Williams Auburn 6-1 213 Sr. Columbia, S.C.
LB Freddie Roach Alabama 6-2 248 Sr. Killen, Ala.
LB Kevin Simon Tennessee 5-11 234 Sr. Walnut Creek, Calif.
DB Muhammad Abdullah Kentucky 6-0 205 Sr. Folkston, Ga.
DB Demetrice Webb Florida 5-11 190 Jr. Jacksonville, Fla.
DB DeMario Minter Georgia 6-0 198 Sr. Stone Mountain, Ga.
DB Will Herring Auburn 6-3 220 Jr. Opelika, Ala.
Pos. Name School Ht. Wt. Class Hometown
P Kody Bliss Auburn 5-11 177 Jr. Brentwood, Tenn.
PK Brandon Coutu Georgia 6-0 197 So. Lawrenceville, Ga.
RS Skyler Green LSU 5-10 185 Sr. Westwego, La.
Pos. Name School Ht. Wt. Class Hometown
P Gordon Ely-Kelso Georgia 6-2 234 Jr. Athens, Ga.
PK Chris Hetland Florida 6-0 185 Jr. Leesburg, Ga.
RS Felix Jones Arkansas 6-0 195 Fr. Tulsa, Okla.
School First-Team Second-Team
Alabama 3 3
Arkansas 2 1
Auburn 3 3
Florida 1 5
Georgia 5 4
Kentucky 0 2
LSU 4 3
Ole Miss 2 0
Mississippi State 1 1
South Carolina 2 0
Tennessee 1 3
Vanderbilt 3 2
TOTALS 27 27