football Edit

Watch List Roundup

Key Recruiting News: Recruiting Mailbag | RB Carr High on Hogs | Agim among nation's best
With seven more watch lists to be announced, five Razorback players have already been made candidates for six different awards.
On Thursday, senior defensive end Trey Flowers was named one of 81 players named to the Bronko Nagurski Watch List, an award given out at the end of every season since 1993 to the nation's top defensive player as voted on by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA). Five finalists will be named on Nov. 20, and the award will be handed out on Dec. 8.
Flowers previously made the 76-player Chuck Bednarik Award Watch List on Monday, which will be presented by the Maxwell Football Club to their pick as the nation's top defensive player. The Bednarik list will be cut on Nov. 3 and will be awarded on Nov. 24.
Flowers, now a senior, registered 44 tackles, including 13.5 for lost yardage with 5.0 sacks in 2013. He also forced 3 fumbles and made an interception.
Also on Monday, the Maxwell Football Club announced their watch list for the Robert W. Maxwell Award, given annually since 1937 to the college football's best player. Razorback tailbacks Jonathan Williams and Alex Collins both made the 78-player list. That list will be trimmed to a group of semifinalists on Nov. 3 and trimmed to three finalists on Nov. 24. The award presentation will be on Dec. 11.
Williams rushed 150 times for 900 yards and 4 touchdowns last season as a sophomore, and Collins became the first freshman in SEC history to rush for over 100 yards in the first three games, on his way to 190 carries for 1,026 yards and 4 scores.
On Tuesday, Razorback sophomore tight end Hunter Henry made the John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List, which is given to the nation's top tight end each year since 2000. Former Hog D.J. Williams took hom the bronze statue in 2010. The Mackey is awarded on Dec. 11, but there are cut dates on Oct. 13 and Nov. 17 before a final list of three on Nov. 24.
Last season as a true freshman, Henry hauled in 28 receptions for 409 yards and 4 touchdowns, all while dealing with knee and muscular issues. Henry is one of 38 tight ends on the list.
On Wednesday, Arkansas punter Sam Irwin-Hill was named to the Ray Guy Award Watch List. Irwin-Hill came to Arkansas out of junior college last season but is originally from Australia. The Ambidextrous Aussie was a weapon at times for the Hogs last year with his ability to rugby punt while rolling right or left and kicking with either leg. Irwin-Hill was also skilled as a more traditional punter. He booted it 46 times last season and had a 44.3-yard average and had an SEC-leading 20 punts land inside the 20-yard line. Irwin-Hill was not on the preseason Ray Guy Award Watch List last season, but he was named a candidate later in the year. Irwin-Hill's career-long came against South Carolina when he punted the ball 79 yards. He is one of 25 punters on the list.
Missed lists
The only award lists released so far that did not have a Razorback name attached are the Rimington Trophy (top center), the Lou Groza Award (top kicker), and the Outland Trophy (top interior lineman).
Expected to miss
Arkansas is not expected to have any players on upcoming watch lists for the July 11 Jim Thorpe Award (top defensive backs), the July 14 Butkus Award (top linebacker), the July 15 Biletnikoff Award (top wide receiver) or the July 16 Davey O'Brien Award (top quarterback).
Expected to hit
Flowers could be a candidate for the Rotary Lombardi Award Watch List, which is due out July 14 and is given to the nation's top lineman. Both Williams and Collins will likely make the Doak Walker Award Watch List on July 17, and that trophy is awarded to the nation's top running back. Williams and Collins may also see their name on the Walter Camp Award Watch List, which will be announced on July 18 and is another overall player of the year award.